Principal investigators

Principal investigators (PIs) from all three research institutions which collaborate in IMPRS-CPQM are actively involved in our program, and most of them offer research projects for PhD students. We also include further research partners in order to widen our scientific scope. If you would like to work with a specific PI who currently doesn't offer a project in IMPRS-CPQM, please contact the PI directly to enquire about project opportunities.

Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids

Dr. Peter Adler: Mössbauer spectroscopy

Dr. Simone Altendorf: Oxide and topological insulator thin films

Dr. Iryna Antonyshyn: Chemical properties of intermetallic compounds

Dr. Kathryn Arpino: Oxides and Chalcogenides

Dr. Michael Baenitz: Magnetic resonance

Dr. Manuel Brando: Novel states on the border of magnetism

Dr. Sushmita Chandra: Topological Materials

Dr. Ashley Cook: Correlations and Topology

Dr. Claire Donnelly: Three-dimensional magnetic systems

Prof. Dr. Claudia Felser: Topological Quantum Chemistry

Dr. Elena Gati: Uniaxial and hydrostatic pressure tuning

Dr. Jianfeng Ge: Paired Electrons and Topology

Dr. Christoph Geibel: Material design and synthesis

Dr. Berit Goodge: Synthesis and spectroscopy of quantum materials

Prof. Juri Grin: Chemical Metal Science

Dr. Clifford Hicks: Strain tuning and precision instrumentation

Dr. Peter Höhn: Nitridometelates and related compounds

Dr. Seunghyun Khim: Material design and synthesis

Dr. Edouard Lesne: Quantum Materials Thin Films

Prof. Dr. Andrew Mackenzie: Physics of Quantum Materials

Dr. Fabian Menges: Topology and light-matter interactions

Dr. Michael Nicklas: Unconventional phases under extreme conditions

Dr. Hilary Noad: Uniaxial and hydrostatic pressure tuning of quantum materials

Dr. Helge Rosner: Electronic structure theory

Dr. Marcus Schmidt: Chemical vapor transport

Dr. Ulrich Schwarz: High-pressure crystal chemistry

Dr. Chandra Shekhar: Topological materials

Dr. Oliver Stockert: Neutron spectroscopy

Dr. Eteri Svanidze: Actinide and lanthanide materials

Prof. Dr. Liu Hao Tjeng: Physics of Correlated Materials

Dr. Maia G. Vergniory: Topological Quantum Chemistry

Dr. Uri Vool: Quantum Information for Quantum Materials

Dr. Frank R. Wagner: Chemical bonding in physical space

Dr. Xia Wang: Topological catalysis

Dr. Steffen Wirth: Scanning tunneling microscopy and magnetotransport

Dr. Haijing Zhang: Electrolyte Gating and Quantum Transport

Dr. Yang Zhang: Correlation, topology, and quantum transport


TU Dresden

Prof. Dr. Bernd Büchner: Solid State Research

Prof. Dr. Thomas Doert: Inorganic chemistry

Prof. Dr. Lukas Eng: Experimental physics / Photophysics

Prof. Xinliang FengMolecular Functional Materials

Prof. Dr. Vladimir Fomin: Emergent Electronic Technologies

Prof. Dr. Jochen Geck: Physics of quantum materials

Prof. Dr. Elena Hassinger: Low-Temperature Physics of Complex Electron Systems

Prof. Dr. Dmytro Inosov: Neutron spectroscopy of condensed matter

Dr. Oleg Janson: Computational methods for correlated materials

Prof. Dr. Hans-Henning Klauß: Magnetic resonance and nuclear probes

Prof. Dr. Clemens Laubschat: Surface physics

Prof. Dr. Karl Leo: Opto-electronics

Dr. Tobias Meng: Quantum Design

Prof. Dr. Kornelius Nielsch: Metallic materials and metal physics

Dr. Nicola Poccia: Superconducting Nanodevices

Dr. Darius Pohl: Structural and magnetic characterization

Dr. Marein Rahn: Correlated electrons under extreme conditions

Dr. Bernd Rellinghaus: Dresden Center for Nanoanalysis (DCN)

Prof. Dr. Michael Ruck: Inorganic Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Thomas Strassner: Physical Organic Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Jeroen van den Brink: Theoretical Solid State Physics

Prof. Dr. Matthias Vojta: Theoretical Solid State Physics

Dr. Daniel Wolf: Advanced Methods of Electron Microscopy

Prof. Dr. Jochen Wosnitza: Electronically correlated materials


University of St Andrews

Dr. Bernd Braunecker: Condensed Matter Theory

Dr. Alexandra Gibbs: Structure-property relationships in quantum and functional materials

Dr. Chris Hooley: Quantum many body physics

Dr. Jonathan Keeling: Non-equilibrium states, matter-light coupling

Prof. Dr. Phil King: Electronic structure of designer quantum materials

Dr. Andreas Rost: Quantum materials research

Prof. Dr. Ifor Samuel: Organic semiconductor optoelectronics

Prof. Dr. Peter Wahl: Tunneling spectroscopy of strongly correlated electron materials


Research partners

Prof. Dr. Laurens W. Molenkamp (University of Würzburg): Topological materials

Prof. Dr. James C. Davis (University of Oxford/University College Cork): Visualizing quantum matter at the atomic scale

Go to Editor View